BJP announces Bhajan Lal Sharma as the new Chief Minister of Rajasthan

new cm of rajasthan
Bhajan Lal Sharma, New CM Of Rajasthan (Photo: Social Media)

Following a decisive meeting of the legislative party in Jaipur, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has officially declared Bhajan Lal Sharma as the new Chief Minister for Rajasthan. Sharma, a first-time MLA from the Sanganer assembly seat and a four-time member of the BJP state executive committee, emerged as the unanimous choice for the leader of the legislative party in the presence of observers.

Sharma’s victory in the Sanganer constituency, traditionally considered a stronghold of the BJP, showcased his electoral prowess. He secured a substantial win over his Congress rival, Pushpendra Bharadwaj, with a margin of 48,081 votes in the recent elections.

Along with him, Divya Kumari and Prem Chandra Bairwa are announced to be the next Deputy Chief Ministers to assist Bhajan Lal Sharma. Prem Chand Bairwa is BJP MLA from the Dudu constituency in Rajasthan who won the seat in the 2023 assembly election by defeating Congress candidate Babulal Nagar with a margin of 35,743 votes. On the other hand, Diya Kumari won Vidhyanagar constituency by a margin of more than 71,000 against Congress candidate Sitaram Agrawal.

The Rajasthan Assembly Election 2023, which witnessed the declaration of results on December 3, saw the BJP sweeping to power with an overwhelming majority, securing 115 seats. In contrast, the incumbent Congress faced defeat, managing to secure only 69 seats.

Leave a Reply