Mohan Yadav, new Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh

Mohan Yadav Appointed Chief Minister
Mohan Yadav new Chief Minister (Photo - Social Media)

The speculation surrounding the new Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh has finally concluded as the BJP legislative party confirmed Mohan Yadav for the position. After winning 163 seats in the assembly elections, defeating anti-incumbency, this decision follows intense discussions in New Delhi and Bhopal. Several names, including Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Prahlad Patel, Jyotiraditya Scindia, VD Sharma, and Kailash Vijayvargiya, were considered.

Mohan Yadav’s selection, surprising many, comes a day after the BJP announced Vishnu Deo Sai as the CM in Chhattisgarh. The official announcement was made after BJP observers met with the newly elected MLAs in the state. Yadav, an MLA from Ujjain South and a former minister in the Shivraj Singh Chouhan cabinet, emerged as the Chief Minister-elect.

The BJP, securing 163 out of 230 seats in the November 17 polls, retained power in Madhya Pradesh. Mohan Yadav’s appointment comes more than two weeks after the BJP’s victory. In his response, Mr. Yadav expressed gratitude for the opportunity, acknowledging his role as a humble party worker.

To address ambitions and maintain harmony, the BJP also appointed two deputy chief ministers – Jagdish Deora and Rajesh Shukla. With these appointments, the suspense over the chief ministers for the states won on December 3, including Chhattisgarh, has ended.

Mohan Yadav’s selection, at 58, marks a significant turn in the state’s political landscape, potentially signaling a new era. The BJP’s strategy of “collective leadership,” centered around Prime Minister Narendra Modi, played a pivotal role in their landslide victory, sidelining the four-time Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan.

The BJP’s decisive win, contrary to exit polls, underscores the effectiveness of their campaign strategy. Former Union Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh Tomar, now a three-time MLA, has been appointed Assembly Speaker, with speculation about his potential succession to the top post. With Rajasthan being the only state without a Chief Minister among those that voted in November, the BJP has concluded its leadership announcements in the other victorious states.

Leave a Reply