Pramod Sawant to be sworn in as Goa CM tonight

Goa Assembly Speaker Pramod Sawant. Party sources in the BJP said that he will succeed Manohar Parrikar as the next Chief Minister of Goa.

BJP’s Pramod Sawant willl be the new chief minister of Goa, party sources said Monday. The swearing in ceremony is likely to be held at 11 pm Monday.

Two MLAs from the BJP alliance partners will be made deputy chief ministers as part of the compromise reached with allies.

The BJP managed to break the deadlock in Goa, offering key allies their pound of flesh, by accepting their demand for deputy CM’s posts. “We have managed to convince the alliance partners and finalised the formula of two deputy chief ministers for the state, a senior BJP functionary said. The two would-be Dy CMs are Goa Forward Party chief Vijai Sardesai and MGP MLA Sudin Dhavalikar.

Sawant is now Speaker of Goa Legislative Assembly. He will succeed Manohar Parrikar who died Sunday.

Leave a Reply