World Genius Directory “Genius of the Year” Over the Years

The world of intelligence testing comes with a wide range of communities and individuals, and tests. Those communities comprise many of the same people with the smaller societies and many more new people with the larger societies.

Although, a few people simply qualify for and apply to an extraordinarily large number of societies, and so become members of them. Such as it is, there have been growing efforts to recognize individuals within the communities for achievements in different domains.

One such effort comes from the World Genius Directory of Jason Betts. Since 2013, there have been awards for individuals within the theoretically high-range testing communities. It seems like an positive effort and came into the email for me.

Many within the high-IQ communities can recognize some of the names from the previous years’ awards. The titles of the awards are ‘World Genius Directory [Year] Genius of the Year – [Region]’ with, typically, three per year and, once, four in a year (the inaugural year).

The standardized regions recognized with the World Genius Directory Genius of the Year awards are Europe, Asia, and America. I remain intrigued by these communities, so went and did some interviews with some of the communities’ membership. They’re interesting people, mostly affable, and open to a chat with a stray Canadian.

The World Genius Directory listing merely recognizes, with a standard of alternative test approval, individuals who score high on tests requiring puzzle solving skills. The hope is alternative tests, as the main set of listed tests, reflect a broader capacity of global information processing.

In some sense, it represents a grassroots effort of recognition of expert puzzle solvers in verbal, numerical, and spatial domains. From 2013 to 2015, they had recognized longstanding names in the communities.

The awardees in 2013, Dr Evangelos Katsioulis (Greece), Dr Manahel Thabet (Yemen), Mr. Rick Rosner (United States), and Dr Jason Betts (Australia); in 2014, Mr. Marco Ripà (Italy), (Australia), and Ms. Karyn Peters (United States); in 2015, Mr. Iakovos Koukas (Greece), Mr. Satoki Takeichi (Japan), and Dr Gregory Grove (United States).

Similarly for 2016 to 2018, some new and some more known names, in 2016, [Omitted by request], Ms. Aishwarya Trivedi (India), and Mr. Jeffery Ford (United States); in 2017, Mr. Marios Prodromou (Greece),  Mr. Sung-Jin Kim (South Korea), Mr. Julien Arpin (Canada); in 2018, Mr. Dalibor Marincic (Bosnia & Herzegovina), Mr. Naoki Kouda (Japan), Dr Bishoy Goubran (United States).

In 2019 to 2022, there was another mix of new and longstanding members: in 2019, Mr. Tor Jørgensen (Norway), Mr. Sunder Rangarajan (India), Mr. Victor Hingsberg (Canada); in 2020, Mr. Domagoj Kutle (Croatia), Dr Jason Betts (Australia), Mr. Daniel Pohl (Canada); in 2021, Ms. Anja Jaenicke (Germany), Mr. Nitish Joshi (India), (United States); and, in 2022, Mr. Graham Powell (United Kingdom), Mr. YoungHoon Kim (South Korea), Mr. Beau Clemmons (United States).

The alternative high-range testing community comes in such a wide variety from the defunct societies to the highly active societies. Yet, there are attempts to recognize one another and motivate one another. The awards are one means by which to do it.

“The World Genius Directory Geniuses” is a listing from the World Genius Directory listing some of the individuals who have scored highly on mainstream intelligence tests and alternative tests. Even if one takes the top 100 names from the scoring rank, many of the names present are awardees, naturally. Active members are active members, after all:

198 Dr Evangelos Katsioulis, Greece, NVCP, www.katsioulis.com

195 Heinrich Siemens, Germany, CIT5, www.tweeback.com/autoren/heinrich_siemens

192 Rick Rosner, United States, Mathema, www.facebook.com/rick.rosner

192 Mislav Predavec, Croatia, LS24, www.generiq.net

190 Kenneth Ferrell, United States, Hieroglyphica, www.kef.highrangeiqtests.com

190 Dany Provost, Canada, PIGS1°, www.lesaffaires.com/blogues/dany-provost

190 WenChin Sui, China, Numerus Classic, www.facebook.com/wenchin.sui

190 Marios Prodromou, Cyprus, Mach, www.facebook.com/metratonivvi

190 Fengzhi Wu, China, Numerus, www.facebook.com/iamFengzhiWu

190 Cường Đồng, Vietnam, Numerus, www.dongkhaccuong.com

190 Tomáš Perna, Czech Republic, ZEN, www.facebook.com/tomas.perna.7

188 Mahir Wu, China, Silent Numbers, www.facebook.com/mahir.wu

185 WeiJie Wang, China, WIT, www.blog.sina.com.cn/u/2194191722

185 Kirk Kirkpatrick, United States, Stanford-Binet, www.facebook.com/macrhino

185 Erik Hæreid, Norway, N-VRA80, www.isi-s.iqsociety.org/mem361.html

185 Christian Sorensen, Belgium, WAIS, www.isi-s.iqsociety.org

185 Rickard Sagirbey, Turkey, Alphabet, www.facebook.com/Neurobuilder

185 Tianxi Yu, China, Numerus Classic, www.facebook.com/tianxi.yu.71

184 Dr Stefano Pierazzoli, Italy, Anoteleia44, http://www.isi-s.iqsociety.org/mem461.html

184 YoungHoon Kim, South Korea, Silent Eagle, https://www.facebook.com/reality180

183 Nikola Poljak, Croatia, Mathodica22, www.phy.pmf.unizg.hr/~npoljak

182 Misaki Ota, Japan, SLSE48, www.facebook.com/oota.misaki.5

182 Caner Sakar, Germany, WIQC, http://profiles.google.com/sakarcaner/about

182 Sadateru Tokumaru, Japan, Algebrica, www.facebook.com/Sadateru.Tokumaru

181 Hansheng Qiao, China, SLSE48, http://hriq.org

181 Lei Xue, China, Silent Spacial, http://leixue.sxl.cn

180 Leela Papadioti, Greece, Mach, www.facebook.com/l33la

180 YoungHoon Kim, South Korea, WAIS, https://www.facebook.com/reality180

180 Zoran Bijac, Croatia, Simtollect, www.globeiq.net

180 Iakovos Koukas, Greece, Verbatim, www.facebook.com/iakovos.koukas

180 Fumihiko Minagawa, Japan, Ninja, www.facebook.com/fumihiko.minagawa

180 Maximilian-Andrei Druţă, Romania, WARP, www.facebook.com/max.druta

180 Takuma Onishi, Japan, Mach, www.facebook.com/takuma.ohnishi

180 Niels Ellevang, Denmark, FreeFall II, www.facebook.com/niels.ellevang

179 Gaetano Morelli, Italy, Mathodica22, www.facebook.com/tany.morelli

179 Gabriele Tessaro, Italy, Anoteleia44, www.facebook.com/gabriele.tessaro.7

178 Dr Evangelos Katsioulis, Greece, CFIT, www.katsioulis.com

178 Dr George Petasis, Cyprus, CFIT, www.georgepetasis.com

178 Tim Roberts, Australia, Titan Test, www.unsolvedproblems.org

178 Dr Benoit Desjardins, United States, Titan Test, www.facebook.com/bdmdphd

178 Mizuki Tomaiwa, Japan, CFIT, https://www.facebook.com/mizuki.tomaiwa

177 Tiberiu Sammak, Romania, AdSub, www.facebook.com/tiberiu.sammak

177 Huiquan Liu, China, AdSub, www.facebook.com/sjtulhq

176 Karyn Peters, United States of America, LAIT, www.facebook.com/karynpeters

176 Zhibin Zhang, China, SLSE48, www.olymp.iqsociety.org/olympians/zhibin-zhang

176 James Dorsey, United States, Numeralis Intelligenia, www.OpalQuestGroup.com

175 Takahiro Kitagawa, Japan, WAIS, www.facebook.com/marubake.no.shiwaza

175 Peter Rodgers, Australia, WIT, http://iqmind.academia.edu/PeterRodgers

175 Brendan Harris, Canada, PIGS1°, www.brendanharris.t15.org

175 Tommy Sandvik, Finland, WARP, www.facebook.com/tommy.sandvik

175 Yosirou Sawayanagi, Japan, SAM Light, www.kawauso.com

175 Susumu Ota, Japan, WAIS, www.facebook.com/susumu.ota.5

175 Veronica Palladino, Italy, Lexiq, http://plus.google.com/113427077760507189284

175 Mhedi Banafshei, United Kingdom, Verbatim, www.facebook.com/mhedi.banafshe

174 Santanu Sengupta, India, JCCES, www.in.linkedin.com/pub/santanu-sengupta/3/50/113

174 Ivan Ivec, Croatia, Algebrica, www.ivec.ultimaiq.net

174 Baku Saito, Japan, SPEED, www.facebook.com/baku.saito.5

174 Anthony Sepulveda, United States, Cosmic, www.deviantart.com/asepulvedastudios

174 Domagoj Kutle, Croatia, Spectra, www.facebook.com/domagoj.kutle

173 Yoshiyuki Shimizu, Japan, SLSE48, www.facebook.com/yoshiyuki.shimizu.54

173 Sandra Schlick, Switzerland, Concep-T, http://home.balcab.ch/sandra.schlick

173 Arttu Purmonen, Finland, Qrosswords, http://fi.linkedin.com/in/arttu-purmonen-5b077918

172 Xiang Zhang, China, SLSE48, www.hi.baidu.com/new/likaihaiyang

172 Dr Claus Volko, Austria, ENNDT, www.cdvolko.net

172 John Argenti, United States, GENE Verbal IV, http://www.facebook.com/john.argenti

172 Hans Sjöberg, Sweden, GENE Verbal III, http://sweiq.iq-metod.se

172 Tonny Sellén, Sweden, GENE Verbal III, http://site0ne.webnode.se

172 Dr Paul Moroz, Australia, VGT, www.joondaluphealthcampus.com.au/ID=6795

172 Yuki Sunagawa, Japan, Lexiq, www.facebook.com/Revirdnas

172 Dr Jason Betts, Australia, GENE Verbal III, www.emeraldalchemy.com

172 Tor Jørgensen, Norway, Lexiq, www.facebook.com/torarnejorgensen

172 Yohei Furutono, Japan, GIFT Numerical III, www.facebook.com/YoheiFurutono

172 Takashi Egawano, Japan, Ninja, www.facebook.com/ore808

172 Tomohiko Nakamura, Japan, Ninja, www.facebook.com/Tomohiko.Nakamura.30

172 Dr Ivan Rašić, Croatia, Vortex, www.instagram.com/dr.ivanrasic

172 Rick Farrar, United States, PatNum, www.facebook.com/rick.farrar.581

172 Nitish Joshi, India, Lexiq, www.linkedin.com/in/nitish-joshi-1a4696170

172 Igor Dorfman, Israel, Lexiq, www.facebook.com/IgorDorfman11

172 Andre Gangvik, Norway, DynamIQ, www.linkedin.com/in/arne-andre-gangvik-9a5658a4

172 Jwajung Kim, South Korea, PatNum, www.instagram.com/kimjwajeong

172 Davor Glumpak, Croatia, PatNum, www.facebook.com/davor.glumpak

172 Kenshin Tomie, Japan, LSHR Light, www.facebook.com/kenshin.tomie

171 Mick Dempsey, United Kingdom, Verba66, www.facebook.com/mick.dempsey3

171 Altug Alkan, Turkey, NRA, www.hell.iqsociety.org/subscribers/altug-alkan

171 Patrick Liljegren, Sweden, OASIS, www.youtube.com/c/RotationMaster

170 Marco Ripà, Italy, 9I6, www.facebook.com/marcokrt

170 Dionysios Maroudas, Greece, Verbatim, www.facebook.com/dios.mars

170 Richard Sheen, New Zealand, NIT-I Spatial, www.facebook.com/richard.sheen.37

170 Ivan Godic, Serbia, GIFT Classic, www.facebook.com/ivan.godic

170 Kirk Butt, Canada, GENE Verbal IV, www.facebook.com/kirk.butt.1

170 Dr Jason Betts, Australia, Spat-1, www.emeraldalchemy.com

170 Charoula Katzioti, Greece, GIFT Numerical III, www.facebook.com/charakatzioti

170 Tomáš Perna, Czech Republic, Spat-1, www.facebook.com/tomas.perna.7

170 Dalibor Marincic, Bosnia and Herzegovina, GIFT Verbal A+B, www.facebook.com/dalibormarincic

170 Željko Zahtila, Australia, Numerus, www.facebook.com/zeljko.zahtila

169 Stephan Wagner-Damianowitsch, Serbia, NVCP, www.facebook.com/s.m.wagner.damianowitsch

169 Shohei Nagayama, Japan, SLSE I, www.facebook.com/shohei.nagayama.37

168 Satoki Takeichi, Japan, SLSE I, www.facebook.com/satoki.takeichi

168 Daming Gao, China, Numerus Light, www.user.qzone.qq.com/18485941

168 Yoshihito Niimura, Japan, Simtollect, http://www.facebook.com/yoshihiton

Insofar as can be seen, the communities are small. However, this, by definition, means small in a statistical sense: Smart people are outnumbered by not as smart people, as a statistical inevitability. Thus, any community will be smaller if comprised of them, and smaller if on the higher ends of the scale of intelligence. As well, it means small in raw size. Mostly, one sees the same names or people.

The awards, such as the Genius of the Year of the World Genius Directory, are one means by which to recognize the time commitment and problem-solving capacity of members of these alternative communities, as one can see in the wide distribution of scores.

It’s different than popular media claims to smartest person in the world, smartest man in the world, and the like[1]. At one point, I did gather some of the uses of “IQ” as a catch-all to claim the smartest this-or-that person[2], while compiling the rankings[3] and then amalgamating the individuals[4], at the time.

The claims are numerous and, typically, arise out of amateur journalism, statistical ignorance, and lack of fact-checking, while based in some truth, i.e., some individuals did score high on some tests – a mix of myth, partial verification, and a state of apparent mental confusion.

Nonetheless, I wish the awardees the best in their efforts and the communities in their work to use their talents for good rather than bad. Some might ask, “What are they doing with their intelligence if they’re so super-smart?”

In some manner, they were, mostly, born with it. It unfolded as a snowflake unfolds over time. Yet, the generativity of nature produces the capacity in steps, so the seedlings were always present. Nature is in charge for the most part.

If they were born with it, and if they live with it, who better to determine its vector, trajectory, than them, or the individual smart person? Everyone needs guidance, and the like, but every smart person can use the capacities, or not, as they see fit, probably.

Awards are merely one moment to recognize some who chose to do well on a test with their talents, and to recognize contributors to community. What’s wrong with that? It depends on the point of view.

——

[1] One sees occasional news items for claimants, including Rick Rosner/Richard Rosner, Marilyn vos Savant/Marilyn Mach vos Savant, William James Sidis/Bill Sidis/William Sidis, Chris Langan/Christopher Langan/Christopher Michael Langan, Evangelos Katsioulis/Dr. Evangelos Katsioulis/“Evan Cat,” Kim Ung-Yong, Terence Tao, and so and so forth.

[2] “IQ Reportage in the Popular Media – Fads and Fun of a Dying Popularity” says:

[3] “IQ Reportage in the Popular Media – Fads and Fun of a Dying Popularity” says, “The various directories, listings, and rankings were analyzed with the compiled ranking as follows, incorporating ‘ESOTERIQ Society of Masaaki Yamauchi (incorporative of some of the Giga Society of Paul Cooijmans), GENIUS High IQ Network of Dr. Iakovos Koukas, GFIS IQ List/Dinghong Yao IQ Ranking List of Dinghong Yao, GIFTED High IQ Network of Dr. Iakovos Koukas, Hall of IQ Scores of Konstantinos Ntalachanis, Hall of Sophia of Guillermo Alejandro Escárcega Pliego, HRIQ Ranking List of Qiao Hansheng, Mahir Wu Ranking List of Mahir Wu, Real IQ Listing of Dr. Ivan Ivec, Svenska IQ-Listan of Hans Sjöberg and Alexi Edin, VeNuS Ranking List of Domagoj Kutle/Domagoj Domo Kutle, WIQF Listing[2] of Marco Ripà and Dr. Manahel Thabet, World Famous IQ Scores of Dr. Ivan Ivec, World Genius Directory of Jason Betts, and World Highest IQ Scores of Mislav Predavec.’”

[4] “IQ Reportage in the Popular Media – Fads and Fun of a Dying Popularity” says:

Compilation Ranking

  1. William James Sidis at unmeasurable sigma (no test named)
  2. Konstantinos Ntalachanis at 8.67-sigma on D.O.S. and at 6.00-sigma on Monster IQ Test
  3. Wen Luo at 7.73-sigma on RIDDLES
  4. Dr. Iakovo Koukas/Iakovos Koukas at 6.93-sigma on MATRIQ
  5. Dr. Evangelos Katsioulis/Evangelos Katsioulis at 6.53-sigma on NVCP-R and at 6.06-sigma on Cooijmans Multiple-Choice #3
  6. Dr. Heinrich Siemens/Heinrich Siemens at 6.31-sigma on CIT-5
  7. Yukun Wang at 6.31-sigma on RIDDLES
  8. Tor Arne Jørgensen at 6.27-sigma on MATRIQ
  9. Rick Rosner at 6.13-sigma on Mathema
  10. Mislav Predavec at 6.13-sigma on Logicaus Strictimanus 24 (LS24)
  11. Dr. Christopher Harding/Dr. Christopher Philip Harding at 6.06-sigma on Stanford-Binet
  12. Junxie Huang at 6.00+-sigma on FREE FALL (Part II) and at 6.00+-sigma on Challenger
  13. Tanxi Yu at 6.00+-sigma on Numerus
  14. José González Molinero/Jose Gonzalez Molinero at 6.00+-sigma on FREE FALL (Part II)
  15. Matthew Scillitani at 6.00-sigma on Psychometric Qrosswords
  16. Mahir Wu at 6.00-sigma on Silent Numbers
  17. Kenneth Ferrell at 6.00-sigma on Hieroglyphica
  18. Dany Provost at 6.00-sigma on PIGS1°
  19. Wen-Chin Sui at 6.00-sigma on Numerus Classic
  20. Marios Prodromou at 6.00-sigma on MACH
  21. Thansie Yu at 6.00-sigma on N-World
  22. Dong Kha Cuong/Cường Đồng at 6.00-sigma on Numerus
  23. Thomas R. A. Wolf at or above 6.00-sigma (no test named)
  24. Andrea Gunnarsson at or above 6.00-sigma (no test named)
  25. Scott Ben Durgin at or above 6.00-sigma (no test named)
  26. Rolf Mifflin at or above 6.00-sigma (no test named)
  27. Paul Johns at or above 6.00-sigma (no test named)
  28. Christopher Harding at or above 6.00-sigma (no test named)
  29. Kevin Langdon at or above 6.00-sigma (no test named)
  30. Photo by Enric Moreu on Unsplash
Scott Douglas Jacobsen
Scott Douglas Jacobsen
Assistant Editor, News Intervention, Human Rights Activist. Scott Douglas Jacobsen is the Founder of In-Sight: Independent Interview-Based Journal and In-Sight Publishing. He focuses on North America for News Intervention. Jacobsen works for science and human rights, especially women’s and children’s rights. He considers the modern scientific and technological world the foundation for the provision of the basics of human life throughout the world and advancement of human rights as the universal movement among peoples everywhere. You can contact Scott via email.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

15,000FansLike
2,650FollowersFollow
12,800SubscribersSubscribe

Latest Articles